Shriven

It’s that time of the year again.


chocolate-banana vegan pancake, Shrove Tuesday 2017

I like the idea of Lent, of spending a period focusing on something different from your ‘normal’ life in the hope that you emerge somehow as a ‘better’ person. Traditionally, the day before Lent is designated Fat Tuesday, or the French would say Mardi Gras*, when the rich foods (such as eggs & butter) are eaten to get them out of the house in preparation for a period of fasting, penitence and abstinence.  daiskmeliadorn  pointed out to me that for a vegan to eat pancakes on Mardi Gras is a little inappropriate, given that a vegan pancake wouldn’t contain those rich ingredients anyway.

I am a traditionalist in many ways, however, and I couldn’t resist the symbolic act of  pancake consumption, almost as though the eating of the pancake was an acceptance of the absolution.

I didn’t have any of the egg replacement recommended by  daiskmeliadorn  (ground flax seed) so I used an alternative no-egg vegan pancake recipe. It wasn’t great, but the addition of banana and chocolate (fair trade vegan, 85% cocoa) probably rescued it as far as the rest of my omnivore family were concerned.

So  what does a vegan, this vegan in particular, give up for Lent?

daiskmeliadorn suggested giving up rocket and spinach might be an appropriate penitential sacrifice. I gave up broccoli a few of years ago, but given the parlous state of my physical health at the moment, I’m reluctant to rule any nutritious food out of my life, even for a few weeks. So I have decided instead to attempt to give up criticising other people and organisations. I am not, however, simply going to put on some rose-coloured glasses and pretend that all’s right with the world. I will still think critically about actions and statements, but where I had been inclined to jump in and criticise an individual or organisation, I will instead spend some time trying to figure out why they are behaving/speaking that way. What is the good outcome they are seeking? How might their actions be slightly modified or words be better expressed to give a more positive result. Mr Trump, I’m looking at you…but there’s lots of examples close to home that will challenge me to find the good in the badly expressed.

I will also use the Lenten period for self-examination., perhaps focussing on why I am too inclined to be critical of others.

*The connection between Fat Tuesday (Mardi Gras) and the festival of the same name which is now a major LGBTIQ event in Sydney, is not immediately clear to me. One day I will investigate, but the historical facts are rather irrelevant – there’s no direct connection now except for the time of the year in which they occur.

About oldblack

ageing and decaying, misanthropic, cynical...black
This entry was posted in emotions, family, food, friends, health, observations, special days and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

